MYoB 2013: project 3… lil plane

lil_planeThis is the project that dang near derailed my whole goal for this year. I purposely set up my goal to be able to model on my days off. (Remember I work 8 on, 6 off). Then the gal that works opposite me when I am off, decided to quit and whoopsie doodle, there went my days off. Insert major amounts of grumbling here. 😦

Luckily I had already started on my project and through sheer stubbornness, I worked on it a little bit each day until… duhn duhn duhhhhn…. I finished it today. WHOOTTTTTTTTTT!

Okay, funny story about this project. I decided to model this really cute little plane that Tim (from Concept Cookie) had posted a couple of weeks ago. He clearly stated that it had been drawn for an upcoming tutorial. Something I managed to forget. So it was with great humor that just as I was getting started with it that I saw Jonathan announce that he was working on the tutorial.

Now in the past, I have always just waited for the tutorial to come out before starting something like this. But this time, I decided that I would learn more if I gave it a go myself first before I saw how it was supposed to be done. I still plan on watching the tutorial when Jonathan releases it. Because of course a few areas didn’t turn out quite how I thought they should have and I want to see how I could have approached it better.

On the up side, I learned a lot  from trying it myself first and this is the first vehicle of any type that I have attempted. And although there are a few issues with it (don’t look at the propellers), it definitely looks like a plane. So, YAY ME!

3 projects done, 23 to go.

5 responses to “MYoB 2013: project 3… lil plane

Leave a Reply

