Huzzah! I drew a pumpkin!

LOL, I crack myself up!

CGCookie recently launched a new section of their site, Concept Cookie, a cool new learning spot for concept and digital art tutorials. And would you believe they launched at the same time I received a graphic tablet for my birthday. Now how cool is that.

So for the last week or so I have been trying to learn how to use my cool new tablet, resulting in a lot of unsaved doodles as I have been experimenting with how to hold the pen, how hard to press etc.

Today I decided to give it a real try. I had already watched Tim’s tutorial on how to paint a pumpkin and it looked easy enough for me to follow. So I launched the video and GIMP and then discovered the coolest thing. I accidentally touched the tablet with my pen while the cursor was over the video….. and …. THE VIDEO PAUSED!

That is too cool, another touch restarted the video. LOL, yeah I discovered that you can do the same thing with the mouse. Apparently I had never clicked on a video while it was playing. 😛 I’m guessing everyone already knew that, but it was news to me and it made following the tutorial much easier. I just touched the video whenever I needed to pause so I could do whatever Tim had just done.

It worked really well. And I ended up with a pumpkin, which was the whole point of the exercise. Sadly it is a very oddly shaped pumpkin and it appears to be floating. Which brings me to my working excuse:

My drawing looks less than perfect because I am still getting used to using a tablet.

And I am sticking with this excuse until further notice. 😛

Actually I couldn’t care less that I don’t draw exceptionally well. I haven’t done any serious drawing in years (and I mean YEARS!) and I was only fair at it then. 🙂

But I am loving being able to blend colors and I have already played some with sculpting in blender with my new toy. I am having way too much fun to fuss over being able to draw or not.

On the up side, practice will improve my drawing to a certain extent, which is just fine. In the meantime, I think I am going to give that eye tutorial a whirl and see what I end up with.

bye now…..

2 responses to “Huzzah! I drew a pumpkin!

  • LswaN

    Hi. I’ve been thinking of getting a graphics tablet at some point, they sound like a lot of fun. Which one did you get? Do you have any recommendations for choosing one?

  • dreamsgate

    I got a Wacom Bamboo Pen and Touch tablet. I don’t have any real recommendations as this is my first tablet. I can say though that my tablet is a lot of fun and the more I use it, the more natural and comfortable I am with it.

Leave a Reply

