So I might just be an idiot…

Or I seriously overestimated my ability to multitask. Nope, I’m sticking with idiot. 😛

Back in July I had not one but three Blender books arrive in the mail. A before then, unheard of bounty of Blender awesomeness all at once. Which of course sparked a serious episode of happy dancing all over the house while hugging the books.

And this is where the “idiot” factor popped up. I couldn’t decide which one to start first, so I decided to read all three at once. Now if I had just read them, it might have worked out just fine. But nooooo, I actually wanted to do the tutorials included in each book. Yes it is not unheard of for me to just read or watch tutorials tutorials without “doing” them, but this time I wanted to do the tutorials.

And that is where the problem cropped up. It didn’t take me long to figure out that my brain was not up to the task of following three separate sets of tutorials all at once. There was too much info for each book that needed my full attention. (It so sucks getting old 😛 )

Anyhow, I was working on Jonathan’s Character Development in Blender 2.5 when I figured out that I needed to focus on one book at a time. So that is the one I continued with and ultimately finished yesterday.

And now that I have finished that excellent book, that resulted in my finishing the incredibly awesome Lia, I am moving on to the other two books.

Using the tried and true “coin flipping” method of making a decision, next up is Virgilio Vasconcelos’ book, Blender 2.5 Character Animation Cookbook. Which actually ends up making a strange kind of sense. Animation normally follows the creation of a character. 😛

After finishing Virgilio’s book, I will be promptly diving into John Edison Herreño’s book, Blender 2.5 HOTSHOT.

So stay tuned for progress updates on both books as I work my way through them. (One at a time, I learned my lesson first time around. 😛 )

One response to “So I might just be an idiot…

  • cathey new media

    Keep up the good work your models are looking really good! I have been going back in forth between a few books for 3DS Max and its been a little mind boggling as well haha. I’m going to take your advice and do one at a time. Check out my page I have some good tips on modeling you might find helpful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

