Lia is FINISHED!!!

Whoot, Happy Dance…. I’m done… Happy Dance!

Stop looking at me like that, this was a very long and detailed project. And I am very excited to have finished it.

The last two chapters went very quickly. But then again I have some experience with UV mapping and Baking normal maps. So it wasn’t that hard to finish it all up today.

While I am familiar with how to bake normal maps, I haven’t used it really all that often so it was quite a kick to see the normal maps on the lo poly pieces of the model. It looked just like the high resolution pieces. What fun!

This has been quite a learning experience and one that I enjoyed very much. In ten odd years of using blender I have only modeled a few human characters. Mainly because they can look really bad if not done right.

After finishing Character Development in Blender 2.5, I feel more confident about tackling human characters. So look out to see more of them in the future.

Here are some final renders of Lia after UV mapping and baking normal maps to the lo poly sections.

4 responses to “Lia is FINISHED!!!

  • Deevad

    Congratz a lot ! Good to see her in 3D :) Thanks for sharing your progress. It’s inspiring to see you didn’t stopped in the middle of the book , and you get your model done till the end.
    Good also to know the whole method was a good learning experience for you.

  • Ben Dansie

    I’ve been following as well, so congrats from me too! Always good to see that these training materials are doing their job in helping artists along the way. Now comes the fun part – more of your own characters! :)

  • Jonathan williamson

    I am beyond thrilled to see you take this all the way to the end Sandra! Now that you’ve finished the book what did you think?

  • dreamsgate

    What do I think?

    I think you should be required to write more books as quickly as possible. :P

    In all seriousness, I was very impressed with the book. I have been using Blender for over ten years and have attempted very few human characters, partly out of an “it’s too overwhelming factor”, as well as the realization that I didn’t have the proper knowledge to get anything remotely resembling what I was going for.

    You broke down the subject (human character modeling), in such a way that I was able to follow along and get over my fear. Breaking it down into smaller sections was very helpful in keeping the “overwhelming factor” in check.

    I can now see that not only was it not anywhere near as complicated as I had imagined, but is in fact something I could comfortably do again.

    You have a great teaching style that I enjoy and hope to see more of in the future. (hint, hint… more books please!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,227 other followers

