I see light at the end of the tunnel!

Today was a dang good day!

I finished chapters 12, 13 and 14 of Jonathan’s book. Lia is now fully retopologized, lit up nicely and has basic materials applied.

Retopology (chp 12)

I am seriously hoping that retopology is an acquired skill that can be improved with practice, because if it is a talent, I am seriously in trouble. πŸ˜›

I shouldn’t complain too much, most of chapter 12 went fine. The part I was most worried about was the face and it really didn’t give me that much trouble. After a couple of false starts, I finally got the hang of it. Okay, after I watched the included video on the DVD, I got the hang of it. Jonathan did state several times in the first several pages of chapter 12 to go watch the video tutorial. There are times when seeing it happen helps a lot. Most of Lia’s face has good loops and looks good. I do have one spot near the nose where the loops didn’t flow quite how I wanted, but I couldn’t figure out how to fix it, so I went with it. πŸ˜›

The part I had the most trouble with was the hair. I did okay retopologizing the individual strands, but when I had to join them all up at the top it got a little ugly. Okay it got a lot ugly, but I did end up with a lower poly mesh, and since I am not going to animate her hair, it will do until I get more practice.

The rest of the chapter wasn’t that hard. Shirt and coat went quick and the last parts using the shrink wrap modifier were very easy.

Lighting (chp 13)

Okay, we all know that I have issues with lighting, but I did get good results very quickly when going through chapter 13. Which I seriously appreciate. I really hate fighting with lighting just so I can get a simple render. I really like the soft look to the lighting and I am going remember this setup for future projects.It was easy to set up and works very well.

In addition to setting up lights, Jonathan showed how to create a backdrop and adjust world settings to get a good render.

Materials (chp 14)

Chapter 14 dealt with setting up basic materials for Lia. I think I spent maybe 30 minutes to get through this chapter. But then again I have a fairly good grasp on creating and applying materials, so it was just a matter of setting up the materials that Jonathan specified and applying them to the appropriate parts of the model. Quick and easy. In fact probably the easiest chapter of the whole book. πŸ˜›

You can see my results so far (image at top of post). Only two chapters left. UV mapping and Baking Normal maps. So I am thinking I might actually finish Lia up in the next few days. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

