Happy Dance !!! Chapter 11 is done!

Happy dance!, chapter 11 is done … ba ba ba baaa Happy dance!

Chapter 11 didn’t take nearly as long as I thought it would. Even though there were A Lot of details to model on the accessories. The backpack and the headset in particular had a lot of detailing.

Although I had a few issues with scaling along normals, (I eventually figured out that I needed to make sure all my normals were pointing the same way ๐Ÿ˜› ), I loved making all the ridged parts of the accessories. They looked so cool when done.

Having very little experience with hard edge modeling, I found it interesting to see how easy it was to create grooves, ridges and things like seams. Edge loops are definitely your best friend there.

Lia is technically all modeled. There is still retopology to do, but she is fully made at this point. I am rather impressed that I managed to achieve a model this detailed that actually looks somewhat like what was being taught. Yay me! and an even bigger YAAY! to Jonathan for writing the book.

If you haven’t read Character Development in Blender 2.5, you are missing out on a serious learning experience. In the process of creating Lia, I learned about both organic modeling and hard modeling. Just about every modeling tool available was used to create Lia.

While still not a master of most of what I learned, I can say that my future projects are going to turn out better after having undertaken such an extensive project as this. Which is kind of the whole point, now isn’t it. ๐Ÿ˜›

And while I have your attention, I have to say that the resource disc is awesome to have. I have watched all the videos, which helped in a few areas where I was being overly dense, which happens all too often. ๐Ÿ˜›

The blend files become my best friend about half way through chapter 10, when it dawned on me that I couldn’t sculpt worth diddly. I started opening the appropriate blend file for every section I was working so that I could see what I was going for. It is so helpful to be able to look at the model from all angles. Screen shots are nice, blend files are better.

Those blend files were extremely helpful as I was working my way through chapter 11. Since I haven’t done much hard modeling, it was helpful to see where things went, especially edge loops. In fact I often had to laugh at myself. I would read the next set of instructions. Jonathan would say do “……..”, I would do it, look at it and think “that can’t be right”. Then I would look at his blend file and and go, “Oh the edge loop goes there”, then go back and read the instructions and go “Well DUH!, he said that!

Well next up is retopology. I have never retopologized anything to date, so this should be interesting. If no one hears from me after a few weeks send search parties and lots of coffee.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

