Whoo Hoo! I can sculpt…

Okay that might be a little bit of an over statement. Up til now my sculpting experience has been limited to a a few minor testing/playing sessions. Nothing major and certainly nothing remotely humanoid.

So although I have been done with the modeling (blocking out) section of Jonathan’s book for a few weeks, I kept putting off starting the sculpting part. I knew this wasn’t going to be easy for me. And it is amazing how many excuses I can come up with to not do something.

So yesterday, I gathered my courage, bit the bullet and sat down to do some sculpting. And of course the first part just had to be the face, the one part I was most worried about. Sigh, that figures.

Okay, round one: I followed Jonathan’s instructions and ended up with a face. That is the only good thing I can say about it. It was a face. A very ugly face. Something was very … not right about the mouth.

Okay, backtrack to previous saved file and start again. (I love having multiple saved files 😛 ) Round two: The nose turned out better, the mouth worse. Snap and dang. Stupid face.

Time to step back and think about this. This is a lot like drawing which is why I am having such problems, I do not draw very well.

I bagged it for the night and decided to try again tomorrow. In the meantime I remembered that Jonathan had included some video tutorials on the disc. And luckily for me there was one on sculpting. And better yet, he sculpted a head. Whoo hoo!!!

I watched the tutorial several times very closely and saw a few things that would help. Well as much as anything could help.

So today, I sat down for round three. Much better results. She still isn’t perfect and I obviously need to practice A LOT, but at least this time it turned out acceptable and now I can continue on.

So here she is with a sculpted face. And now I am off to try doing the hair. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

