Well now I feel silly . . .

I was in the middle of making a silly little animation, something I obviously haven’t done in a very long time. When I became completely baffled. For the life of me, I couldn’t figure out how to keyframe a material.

Now seriously, I know it has been a while, but I know I have done it before. I spent the better part of the afternoon trying to figure out why I couldn’t do it any more. I looked everywhere for the dang option, menu, shortcut etc. I even opened up an older version of Blender, thinking it was just broken in the version I was using. Nope, no material keyframing in older version either.

I know I have done this before.

Sigh, finally after messing with it off and on all day, I googled it. Should have done that right off the bat, first time it didn’t work.

It was so simple, I just about kicked myself. And of course, once I saw it, THEN I remembered having read about it way back when it changed. Double sigh!

So for all of you who haven’t tried to keyframe materials lately, here is the scoop.

  1. go to first frame you want to Keyframe, set color (diffuse, specular etc)
  2. hover mouse cursor over color picker box,
  3. Now hit “I” key to set keyframe

Very simple and very silly of me to have forgotten that now everything is keyframeable (spell checker says that isn’t a word, shows what they know 😛 ). So put your mouse cursor over any option setting box, push “I” key and you are good to go!

Whooot!, now back to silly animation.

5 responses to “Well now I feel silly . . .

  • Richard Perkins

    It happens to the best of us.Same thing happened to me with normals calculation.

  • Smartdog

    Dreamsgate

    Being somewhat of a newbie….I want you know that your struggle has helped another in the blender community 🙂

    Thank you
    We all learn by sharing what we know
    Smartdog

  • dreamsgate

    LOL, well stick around, you will learn lots around here!

    You would think as long as I have been using blender that I wouldn’t run into so many silly problems, but it happens every time I open blender. Anything beyond modeling and I will be faced with the dumbest user created hiccups and malfunctions ever seen.

    I am the self acclaimed queen of user created malfunctions 😛

  • OliverTwist

    Anybody know where the setted keyframes are shown? Because the Action editor do not save material keyframes automatical like cam moves for example.
    And the dopesheet also got no frames set if the object is selected… .

    Or must I use the graph editor…?

  • dreamsgate

    You can use the graph editor to view the material keyframes.

Leave a Reply

