Ogre Dragonette

Having seen a number of video tutorials lately on the powerful and easy to use sculpting tools, I was itching to give it a go myself. I finally gave in and decided to take blender’s sculpting tools for a spin. I really didn’t have the time or desire to model a base mesh to play with. Luckily I have 10 years of abandoned semi-forgotten models in various stages of completion. A quick look through my files soon turned up several likely models for a little sculpting mayhem.

The model I decided to attack first was a low poly ogre dragonette. Apparently somewhere in the distant past, I planned to make the game of the decade featuring this ugly little guy. I have vague memories of the game idea and probably still have notes for it somewhere, but I obviously never got further than modeling my little monster.

A quick check when I opened the file determined that this little guy would work well as a base mesh. He was really low poly, but in an obvious past moment of genius, I had managed to model a good basic shape.

So I set about detailing him up. Quite honestly I couldn’t tell you exactly what I did or didn’t do. Which is kind of fun in and of itself. I just grabbed tools at random and started painting on the model and checked the results. Some results got immediately undone, some stayed, some got smoothed down or drawn over later. Eventually he started gaining character and a certain coolness factor that amused me to no end.

Sculpting tools have come a long way since they were first introduced. In fact the latest incarnation is a hoot to play with. There is something liberating in not having a concrete plan when you start. You can just kind of go with the flow and see where it takes you.

Absolutely funny thing happened as I tried to set up a test render. All I wanted was a little light on the subject, nothing fancy or complicated. Just a good light set up to show off all the cool sculpting I had done. I obviously had forgotten that a few things had changed. Like the fact that you have to purposely turn on shadows in the render settings. So here I am trying to get a basic AO and I can’t seem to get shadows for the life of me. 20 minutes later I was actually looking for something else and saw the settings. Not only did I not have shadows turned on, but I didn’t have raytrace on either. Which pretty much explained why my lamps were behaving oddly. Oh well, and on with the show. šŸ˜›

Technically he could be called done now, or I could just as easily continue to mess with him whenever the urge struck.

So there you go, one mean looking little ogre dragonette and now I have a practice model that I can use to practice making normal maps at a later date.

One response to “Ogre Dragonette

Leave a Reply

