Expanding my Horizons

All too often I fall victim to a common problem experienced by many CG artists, techno geeks and computer nerds. I forget there is life beyond my computer screen. And while I love my computer to no end. So much time staring at it, has a tendency to cripple my creativity.

Which is why for the last several months I have been indulging in another favorite past time of mine, reading. I have always loved reading, the way it opens your mind and allows various things you have read to recombine into new thought patterns. Even better it often triggers a storm of new creative ideas and projects that I can’t wait to start.

Oddly enough, though I have always considered myself to be well read, I am also aware that I have sadly neglected to broaden my reading horizons to include classic works of literature. Yeah I know, shame on me. I honestly don’t know how I managed to get through high school without having read at least a few of them. But somehow I did. Unless of course,while they were being covered, I was too busy reading some other book at the same time as the teacher was discussing it. Which is actually very likely, now that I think about it. 😛

Portrait of Jane Austen, from the memoir by J....

Image via Wikipedia

Anyhow, over the last several months I have read a number of great books, none of which were classics (I figured I would get to them someday, just not today 😛 ). And would you believe it, one of the latest books I read, The Man Who Loved Jane Austen by Sally Smith O’ Rourke, caused me within 3 chapters to go download every Jane Austen book I could find. And honestly, I downloaded them out of curiosity and nothing more.

But then, once I finished The Man Who Loved Jane Austen by Sally Smith O’ Rourke, and started Pride and Prejudice. Oh my, was I hooked. It was by far the funniest book I have read in ages. She has such an warm and humorous style of writing that I found to be fun and relaxing to read. And yes, I am aware that most of my amusement was probably seeing how much social values and behavior has changed since her time. But honestly, much of the story was just downright funny.

And yeah, now that I have finished Pride and Prejudice, I have already started Sense and Sensibility, which I am finding just as amusing as the first one.

So what if anything are the rest of you reading this summer? And if you are spending all your time glued to your computer screen, my goodness, push away and go find a book to read. Your brain will thank you for it. 😛

Leave a Reply

