A new project: Perry the Sheep

Here recently my 16 year old daughter asked if I could model and animate a cartoon character she had drawn. Actually that kind of makes it sound like she had just created it. When the truth is, Perry the Sheep has been in existence for quite a while. She draws him every chance she gets. I find Perry the Sheep on scraps of paper all over the house.

Anyhow, I agreed on a couple of conditions.

1- She had to provide a front and side view for modeling reference.

2- She had to draw out a storyboard of what she wanted me to animate.

Thinking that would be the end of it (she had suggested projects like this before), I went about working on other projects.

Yeah, I should have known better, it’s not like she hadn’t been drawing him obsessively for months or anything. ๐Ÿ˜›

In a matter of hours, she hands me the reference images and the storyboards.

Well, okay, I should have seen that coming. Anyhow, I had recently finished up a bunch of projects and I now had some free time. This should be fun and it shouldn’t take too long.

Then the fun began.

I put her sketches into my computer and got them ready to use in Blender. The whole time she is sitting next to me chanting “model Perry! model Perry!’

Sigh! 16 year olds are so impatient.

So I finally launch Blender and set the images of Perry in the background, when my daughter states “but he still looks 2d, I wanted him to be 3d.”

Trying not to laugh, I explain that she is looking at just the reference images. I need to model him. She responds with “Well model him!”

Laughing I add a cube so I can get started. And she’s like “What are you doing?!!!”

“Well, I’m getting ready to model Perry and I generally start with a cube”.

And here comes the best comment yet. Are you ready for it?

“But mom, can’t you just push a button or something? I thought you could just make my image 3d!”

Attn: all coders

my daughter thinks we need a model it now button!

So I start modeling Perry. It was going pretty well, my daughter was telling me make this bigger, that more round etc. Then we got to the eyes.

Oh boy, that was an eye opening experience. I have never modeled to anyone’s design before. I have always just done whatever I wanted.

Yeah, she had a completely different vision of how it should look. It took a little discussion (okay arguing ๐Ÿ™‚ ), but we finally got it looking the way she wanted.

I still have to model the body yet, so I had better get back to it. She is giving me that “why aren’t you working on it look!” again.

Did I mention my daughter is impatient.

As soon as I finish Perry up, I’ll post a render and her original sketches.

Leave a Reply

