Rigging Captain Blender

While I don’t have any new images to share at this time, I have been hard at work on Captain Blender. And I now remember why I haven’t sat down and seriously studied rigging. Oh my goodness, it is enough to give you a serious headache and or make you rip your hair out.


Yep, you guessed it, I am in the process of rigging Captain Blender. Don’t get me wrong, the book is fairly easy to follow. I am just really good at messing up simple instructions. 😛 That and there are just sooooo many bones and constraints to set up and keep track of.

I really admire all the users that make this look so easy, because trust me, this is a lot of work. I have spent the last two evenings working through the rigging chapter and I haven’t even finished building the rig yet.

I am guessing that the rig will be easy to use once it is all built. Okay, so I peaked ahead and opened the finished rig blend and saw that there are not 50 million bones to fight with. Which I am pretty sure is the whole point of why it is set up the way it is.

Well since I really want to get to the animating part, (it is after all why I bought the book 😛 ) I’d better get back to rigging. Because somehow I don’t think I can just skip ahead. 😛

3 responses to “Rigging Captain Blender

Leave a Reply

