The “Yeah, yeah” Cure

It has happened to all of us at some point. We are in the middle of a cool project, or in my case multiple projects, and all of a sudden you either lose inspiration or motivation, or even worse you lose both. So you sit there looking at your project saying “Yeah, yeah maybe later, I don’t wanna right now” Bummer deal, this is the point where most projects get shelved and never see the light of day again. And while it can happen any time, it does seem to strike me the worst right after holidays. Up to and during the holidays, I am just fine, in fact I generally get quite a bit done on my projects at that time. Something I actually attribute to the fact that I am already in high gear from running around getting things ready for the holiday. And the sudden lack of motivation afterward most likely comes from being tired and finally slowing back down.

Well my cure is to use my “Yeah, yeah” periods to learn new things about Blender. I go find some nice tutorials that I have bookmarked and just start doing them until the “Yeah, yeah’s” fade away. Believe me, it actually works. You might have to kind of force yourself to actually sit down and get started, but a funny thing happens when you do. While doing a tutorial, you don’t have to make all the decisions that an original project entails, you just have to follow directions. Freeing your mind to wander and soon enough the block just kind of breaks up.

So why am I telling you all of this? Well, once again I fell prey to the dreaded “Yeah, yeah’s” and I decided it was the perfect time to crack open the copy of Tony Mullen’s book “Introducing Character Animation with Blender” that I bought last spring when it released. Okay, don’t look at me like that, I have been busy. I have, really!

Anyhow, I bought the book to learn more about rigging and animating in blender. Something I have been wanting to venture into. Now, I could have very easily just jumped to the rigging chapter and used the already built model of Captain Blender that Tony provided on the CD, but I have this odd stubborn streak that requires me to do all my own modeling. Yep, I started at the beginning and boy howdy!, that was a learning experience. I haven’t modeled many humanoid characters, so it took me a little bit to get through modeling my own Captain Blender. Okay, okay, it took more than a little bit, but hey I learned a lot, so there. 😛

Now a funny thing happens when I am modeling characters (although my characters are normally cartoony type animals), I swear they start to develop little personalities the further along they get in their development. Blame it on the fact that I am a woman or on my oddball sense of humor, but it happens. So here I am modeling Captain Blender, and the further I got, the more I start noticing that he seems to be an arrogant, pompous little man. An impression that got even stronger when I finished texturing him and gave him hair.

There he was, standing there, with what I swear is a “I’m so full of myself” smirk, and before I could stop myself, I could imagine him singing and dancing to “I’m Too Sexy” by the British trio, Right Said Fred. Now that this ridiculous mental image has firmly lodged itself in my imagination, I just know he will end up in a little music video. But of course his music debut will have to wait until I actually finish the book. It wouldn’t do to let him go off making videos unprepared, now would it?

Well, I am now up to the rigging chapter, which is what I wanted all along. I’ll let you know how that turns out. 😛 In the meantime here are some images of how Captain Blender turned out when I modeled him.

Now, honestly, does he look pompous or what?

Leave a Reply

