Obviously I can’t follow directions

Every year for Valentines Day I make a short (very short) animation for my husband. They aren’t fancy or complicated. In fact more often than not, only a few objects move. Then I add whatever love song I have picked for that year and add some admittedly cheesy text effects in time to the song. All in all they are pretty goofy, but he really likes them.:)

Well this year I decided to kick it up a notch. I have been trying to start working on character animation and coming up with far too many excuses to put it off.

So I decided to attempt a short character animation. And having just recently read Roland’s new book, “Animating with Blender: How to Create Short Animations from Start to Finish”, I felt pretty confident that I could pull this off. Roland laid out a clear work flow for starting, and better yet finishing an animation.

Too bad I can’t follow instructions!

I never have been good at writing down story ideas, so writing a script was proving to be an issue. And I have never created a story board. Yep, those would have been steps 1 and 2.

But while I didn’t have a set script, I had a mental road map of sorts. So I did go ahead and design and model my little characters.

Then I kind of got stuck in limbo. I know I had to plan out my script and storyboards, but was having trouble making myself sit down and actually do it.

storyboard_panel

Storyboard Panel

LOL, the script isn’t going to win any awards, but I finally got it down on paper. I even drew a few story boards. Now those just might win an award or two. I draw a very amazing stick figure. :P

Next up I am supposed to make an animatic for timing and to help with positioning. Yeah, totally skipped that part.

Instead I started building my set. I didn’t need much. Two walls, a floor and a bench. I was supposed to just be creating basic place holder items. Nope went all the way. Everything is built, textured the way I want and (totally out of sequence) completely lit.

Lighting and Material test render

Lighting and Material test render

I know, lights are much further down the checklist. But I was doing quick test renders of the set to check the materials and one thing led to another. (Check one more item off the list.)

I may not have done it in the right order, but I have a script (sort of), storyboards, characters and a set that is fully built, textured and lit.

I still have to rig my characters (I am so not looking forward to that), block out my animation and then fine tune it.

So I had better get back to work, my deadline is fast approaching. I’ll let you know how it all turns out.

Oh and Roland, next time I will do all the steps and in the right order even. I promise! :P

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,355 other followers

