Creative Use of 3D Animation In Children’s Programing

Ever since I started using Blender, I have been more aware of CG art and animation. Not surprising really, considering that 3d animation is becoming more mainstream as it becomes more cost effective for every day use.

You are probably wondering where I am going with this. LOL, I’m going to children’s television. 3d animation is being used more and more in children’s programing. Something I was, admittedly, only marginally aware of until I started actively looking at what was available for my little girl to watch.

To my surprise, quite a bit is being done in 3d for kids. Two of my little girl’s favorites (okay mommy really enjoys them too, just for different reasons) are Backyardigans and Word World.

Backyardigans is about five little characters who through their wonderful imaginations, have amazing make believe adventures in their backyard. The characters are cute and brightly colored. Each adventure starts with a little song and dance number and then the characters head off for their adventure as their backyard morphs into a make believe environment. The adventures are varied and imaginative as any child’s imagination and their in no limit to what can happen as each adventure unfolds.

While my daughter loves the bright colors, songs and dances, I enjoy watching how the characters interact with their environments. I find myself analyzing the timing, smoothness of animation, how the plot unfolds as well as running gags and consistency of the characters’ personalities.

The other show my daughter and I really enjoy is Word World. Now this is really an amazing use of creativity and 3d animation. The concept of this show is to encourage and promote pre-reading skills in young children, so everything on the show is spelled out. Literally!!! For example, Miss Sheep, one of the main characters, is actually the word “sheep” shaped like a sheep. Pretty clever If you ask me.

I find myself watching each episode in great delight. Each episode is filled with numerous Object words shaped like what they are. During each segment the characters build words to create objects they need to do routine tasks as well as complete adventures and each segment has a “Build a Word” where they do a little song and dance routine while building a new word that promptly morphs into what ever it is.

Not only are the characters and set/environment objects an inspiration in creativity, but the animation itself is worthy of close study. The actions and movements of the characters are amazing and the animators make great use of the fact that they are composed of letters. You often see the letters separate slightly as a character jumps or moves, adding more than just little bit of playfulness to their movements. And if you think watching the characters move is educational, then watching as words morph into themselves will make you just drool in animators envy. I know I do every time I see it in action. 😛

I have only discussed two of the many shows currently available for small children. And while I tell myself that I watch these with my little girl because she likes them, to be honest I enjoy them just as much as she does. I get to see and study some really great animation while she gets to watch quality television that actually teaches her something of value.

So if you find yourself in a creative slump, try checking out a few children’s shows. You will be amazed at what’s going on out there.


Leave a comment